Janelle Monae Releases New Video

RICHMOND, Va – R & B singer Janelle Monae released the video for her single “Q.U.E.E.N.” The single is from her album Electric Lady, which is expected to be released this fall.

The video starts with the intro “Welcome to the living museum where legendary rebels throughout history have been frozen in suspended animation.” Afterwards, a couple of museum-goers put’s on a vinyl record that plays “Q.U.E.E.N.”

The song is basically about how people are quick to judge her, but she ignores their criticism. Janelle Monae is outspoken about such issues as promoting a positive body image and how to respond to hate crimes.

“I made a decision to be unique. People don’t ask Jay-Z to take his shirt off when he rhymes,” Janelle said. “[I wanted to] redefine what it means to be sexy and what it means to be a woman. Showing my skin is not what makes me sexy. like skirts and dresses just like everyone else, but I had a message I needed to put out there. It was up to me to show people and young girls there was another way.” – Essence Magazine

Though I’m not really a big fan of the song (the lyrics just don’t do it for me), I understand her message and I appreciate the fact that she’s trying to send positive messages to young girls. It seems like whenever there’s a female icon in the media, she’s always sexualized. What does this teach young girls? That to be successful, you have to become a slave to the industry and basically just become eye candy? Janelle proves that she doesn’t need to over-sexualize herself to be successful. I admire her confidence and wisdom and I’m glad that she decided to become a positive role model.

Janelle’s future plans:

“My creative partners and I have a lot of big ideas we’re excited to ship out into the world. Starting with my follow-up album to “The ArchAndroid” which is honestly sounding very inspiring to hear and is really. really jamming. This “emotion picture” will not only be a reflection of my growth as a singer, songwriter, performer, and thought thrival, but will be designed to tap into the core of the listener and hopefully help you become your highest self; becoming an agent of change in your own community,” Janelle said in an interview.

