Under the Influence Tour

RICHMOND,Va – Hip hop artists A$AP Rocky and Wiz Khalifa are touring together this summer for the (appropriately named) “Under the Influence” tour.

As a fan of both artists, I for one am looking forward to this tour. I have been to each of their shows and they both have great performances, laden with upbeat tunes and positive vibes. (Though the positivity may be due to the amount of marijuana in their blood stream)

The two rappers come from different backgrounds, but share a similar rise to fame. They both gained what appeared to be overnight recognition form mixtapes they produced and they are both still very relevant in both the mainstream and underground music community.

“And my fans aren’t just your regular urban fans who like an artist but won’t buy a t-shirt or an album. I have genuine motherfuckers behind me. Not only that, the fashion world loves me. I’m happy for that. I didn’t think they were gonna fuck with me at all. I’ve got gold teeth and braids and I’m talking about bitches all day, and they love it. So that means that we got the fashion people, the hardcore people, and now we’re getting the mainstream audience. It’s a trifecta,” A$AP Rocky said in a Pitchfork interview.

VCU students may be familiar with Rocky because he performed in this year’s homecoming concert.

Since Wiz Khalifa is a new father, a lot of people are criticizing him for going on tour so soon. Here are some hilarious quotes from Wiz that expresses his thoughts on the subject:

“The Taylor Gang captain has somehow learned to effectively communicate with his son, who was born one month ago today. “He’s letting me get back to work, so it’s good. We talked about that the other day; he let me know it was cool,” Wiz revealed. (From an MTV interview)

Maybe I’m biased, but I think Wiz will make a great dad… and this quote from him (from the previous MTV interview) only strengthens my beliefs:

Though Wiz is adjusting to fatherhood nicely, he does find some difficulty with his new role. “The hardest thing for me is just when he cries. I want to give him everything just so he stops crying,” he said. “You never want your baby to cry.”

The tour will start on July 17 in San Francisco and end on August 11 in Cincinnati. This is going to be a show that you don’t want to miss.

